Storm

Under the bed my heart goes thump, thump, thump.

Firefly self-lighting into the burrows of the earth.

All I need is to hear your voice above,

While I scratch at the wood before the storm.

 

The clocks keep ticking, keeping time with the birds in the morning.

I see your face in my dream, filled with laughter and a blinding background.

All I need is to hear your voice above,

While I crawl out of the dirt before the storm.

 

Laying in a meadow, bright and yellow.

You sing a song to me, one that has layers and textures of emotion.

You promise your devotion to me and

I in return, scream and run like I was being chased by a monster.

 

But still all I need is to hear your voice above,

As I weep in your arms, and stand before you during the storm.

 

Leave a Reply

